The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 kicked off with a bang for the Punjab Kings as we triumphed over the Delhi Capitals by four wickets at Sadda Akhada 2.0 in Mullanpur. It is a fantastic beginning to the new season, setting the tone for the rest of IPL 2024. We are elated and proud of the team's performance as we gear up to take on the Royal Challengers Bengaluru on Monday.

After putting the Delhi Capitals in to bat first, they got off to a strong start with Mitchell Marsh scoring quick runs. However, our star bowler Arshdeep Singh turned the tide by dismissing the Australian inside the powerplay. 

Harpreet Brar also bowled tightly, restricting the Capitals to 54 for 1 at the end of the Powerplay. Despite David Warner's threatening presence, Harshal Patel got the better of him.

Shai Hope contributed 33 runs before being dismissed by Kagiso Rabada, and Rishabh Pant fell victim to Harshal. A late cameo from the young Abhishek Porel boosted their score to 174.

In response, we got off to a flying start, scoring 17 runs in the first over bowled by Khaleel Ahmed.

Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow kept scoring briskly but their untimely dismissals put us in an early spot of bother. However, Prabhsimran Singh, our impact player, and Sam Curran steadied the ship with a 42-run partnership. Despite losing Prabhsimran and Jitesh Sharma in quick succession, Liam Livingstone and Curran's partnership turned the game around. Curran's impressive knock of 63 runs off 47 balls was instrumental in our victory. Curran departed late in the chase, but Livingstone remained composed and sealed the game with a massive six.

It's a fantastic start to the tournament, and we will look to maintain our winning momentum as we face off against the Royal Challengers Bengaluru at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Monday.

Brief Scores: Delhi Capitals 174 for 9 in 20 overs (Shai Hope 33, Abishek Porel 32, Arshdeep Singh 2/28) lost to Punjab Kings 177 for 6 in 19.2 overs (Sam Curran 63, Liam Livingstone 38, Kuldeep Yadav 2/20)

Player of the Match: Sam Curran