KXIP retained 14 players for the 2020 IPL.Photo: SPORTZPICS

Kings XI Punjab has retained 14 players and released seven ahead of the auction for the 2020 VIVO Indian Premier League.

KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Mujeeb ur Rahman Chris Gayle remain the core of the team as they would continue their third straight season with KXIP.

Gayle, Mujeeb, Nicholas Pooran and Hardus Viljoen were the overseas players that were held onto while four others were released.

With the inclusion of Jagadeesha Suchith and Krishnappa Gowtham via trades, Kings XI Punjab currently has 16 players in the team comprising five batsmen, seven bowlers, two wicket-keepers and two all-rounders.

The minimum squad size in the IPL needs to be 18 and a maximum of 25 with no more than eight overseas players, which means KXIP needs to bring in two more members and can go up to nine, of which a maximum of eight for can be overseas players.

The team will take these decisions and bolster their squad during the auctions next month to ensure that the core is well backed up during the season.

Kings XI Punjab wishes the released players the best for their future endeavours.

RETAINED: KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Mohammed Shami, Nicholas Pooran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar and Murugan Ashwin.

TRADED IN: Jagdeesha Suchith and Krishnappa Gowtham.

RELEASED: Varun Chakravarthy, Andrew Tye, Sam Curran, Simran Singh, David Miller, Moises Henriques and Agnivesh Ayachi.