The wait is finally over. Ravichandran Ashwin has officially succeeded the throne as the new captain of Kings XI Punjab for the upcoming Indian Premier League season. He will lead the pride of Punjab into battle in the hopes of getting them to their maiden title triumph.

Ashwin is a master strategist and keen reader of the game and will undoubtedly bring his vast array of experience into play while leading the Kings. He is no stranger to VIVO IPL glory either. He has been a part of the IPL winning team twice in the past, and this season he will be hungrier than ever to add a third title to that list.

With a number of explosive players such as Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh and Aaron Finch in the side, it will take someone with the calm composure of Ashwin to be able to make tough decisions when the chips are down. He is no mug with the bat either. He has been seen contributing valuable runs to the team’s cause while playing for India and will certainly do the same for Kings XI.

His all-round expertise and ability to pull the team out of tough situations with both bat and ball will help the team immensely. The level-headed Ashwin believes in leading from the front and will undoubtedly rise to the new challenges captaincy throws at him.

While speaking to Ashwin promised fans that, with him at the helm, the Sher-e-Punjab would dish out a brand of cricket that both, players and fans, would be proud of.

“I feel honoured to be trusted with the responsibility of leading such a talented bunch of cricketers,” said Ashwin, “I am confident of bringing out the best out of team mates. This is indeed a proud moment for me.”

He also put to rest any questions regarding his ability to balance the pressures of captaincy with those of being one of the main strike bowlers of the team.

“There is no additional pressure on me as such. I first led my state side in first class cricket when I was 21. I have done it in the past and I am sure that I will enjoy the challenge,” said the spinner.

KXIP will now be looking to Ash to help them Win their first ever IPL trophy!