This year's VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) will be held in India and is likely to begin on March 23, according to a statement released by the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday.

The decision was taken following a meeting of the Supreme Court Appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) in New Delhi that involved discussions over the 12th edition of the league and was announced after "preliminary discussions with the appropriate central and state agencies / authorities."

It quells speculation that the IPL could be held overseas owing to the 2019 general elections, due to be held between April and May. The IPL was held in South Africa in 2009 for the same reason, and in the UAE for the first two weeks during the 2014 edition.

Further elaborate meetings with all the stakeholders will be held before a schedule is released to account for the "proposed" start date of March 23.

"The detailed schedule will be finalised in consultation with the appropriate authorities," the statement said.

It will be the second-earliest start to the season after 2010, which began on March 12. Last year's IPL kicked off on April 7 with Kings XI Punjab featuring in the opening fixture.