Our boys will look to bounce back against Delhi Capitals (DC) in our 12th match of the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, on May 13.

With 10 points from 11 matches, we are eighth on the points table. A win over the Capitals will keep us in the hunt for TATA IPL 2023 playoffs.

On the other hand, Delhi Capitals have won four of their 11 matches this season. They are currently at the bottom of the standings with eight points.

Let’s look at some stats and numbers ahead of the crucial TATA IPL 2023 encounter.


We have faced Delhi Capitals 30 times in the TATA IPL, winning on 15 occasions. 

At the Arun Jaitley Stadium, our boys have won five of the 11 matches against DC so far.

Competition Total Matches Won by PBKS Won by DC
Overall 30 15 15
At Arun Jaitley Stadium 11 5 6

Shikhar Dhawan’s Brilliant Record At Kotla:

Shikhar Dhawan will return to his home ground - Arun Jaitley Stadium. Our skipper has an outstanding record at this venue. Dhawan has scored 719 runs, his second-highest at any venue in TATA IPL.

Venue Runs Strike Rate
Hyderabad 1477 124
Delhi 719 131
Wankhede 625 130

Additionally, Dhawan has the joint-most fifty-plus scores (8) by any batter at this ground in TATA IPL.

Player 50+ scores
Shikhar Dhawan 8
David Warner 8
Virender Sehwag 7
Shreyas Iyer 7

The 37-year-old also has a brilliant record against his former team, Delhi Capitals. He has amassed 550 runs in 17 innings at a strike rate of 140, his best personal record against any team in the tournament.

Opponent Innings Strike Rate
Delhi Capitals 17 140
Punjab Kings 26 139
Chennai Super Kings 29 132

PBKS Middle Order Steals Limelight:

Our middle order has performed exceptionally well in the last two seasons of TATA IPL. They have accumulated over 900 runs at an excellent strike rate of 145.

Year Matches Runs Strike Rate
2019 14 826 137
2020 14 648 138
2021 14 634 118
2022 14 926 147
2023 11 908 146

Our dashing all-rounder, Liam Livingstone, has the best strike rate (177) among all batters in TATA IPL (min. 20 innings) since 2022.

Player Innings Runs SR
Liam Livingstone 20 609 177
Andre Russell 22 490 170
Dinesh Karthik 26 470 169
Jitesh Sharma 21 494 162
Nicholas Pooran 24 554 151

Jitesh Sharma Dazzles:

Our designated finisher, Jitesh Sharma, has grabbed the headlines with his incredible power-hitting. Jitesh is the second-highest run-getter for us scoring 260 runs at a strike rate of 160.

The Indian wicketkeeper-batter has got off to blitzkrieg starts and has a strike rate of 177 in the first 10 balls that he has faced in the ongoing edition.

Batter Innings Runs SR
Jitesh Sharma 11 177 177
Yashasvi Jaiswal 11 180 175
Shahrukh Khan 9 107 167

Some More Interesting Numbers: 

→ Shikhar Dhawan is 4 sixes away from 150 maximums in TATA IPL.

→ Shikhar Dhawan is 6 fours away from 100 fours for PBKS in TATA IPL.

→ Jitesh Sharma is 6 runs away from 500 runs in TATA IPL.

→ Liam Livingstone is 6 sixes away from 50 maximums for Punjab Kings in TATA IPL.